odix introduces an effective plugin for Microsoft 365 Mail based on its patented algorithm for eliminating malware hidden in email attachments.
The odix concept is simple; instead of trying to detect a known malware and block the attachment for the user, the odix service disarms malware and provides a sanitized attachment for safe usage.
FileWall™ provides an effective malware prevention solution against both known and unknown malware attacks and handles all incoming email traffic including internal emails.

What does FileWall™ do with my attachment?
Filewall™ by odix, a security supplement for Microsoft 365 mail scans attachments via its patented algorithm and neutralizes any piece of code that is not part of the native attachment structure, it then safely disassembles and rebuilds your attachment from scratch. These “new” attachments retain their original functionality, properties, and type, but if malware is found inside it is eliminated. This sanitized copy is safe to open and use.
Where are the original attachments stored?
Your original attachments are automatically saved in an odix Backup folder. When the odix Microsoft 365 Attachment Sanitization FileWall™ is implemented, the odix Backup folder is automatically added in your Outlook mailbox.
How do I know it’s safe to open an attachment?
Upon a successful FileWall™ sanitization of attachments, the following message is displayed in the message preview: “Attachments in this message were sanitized by FileWall.”. You can safely open and use the attachment(s) listed in the message. Also, by clicking the link “Where are my original attachments?” below, you can have easily access for the FileWall™ Q&A page.
Why didn’t FileWall™ sanitize my attachment?
Although FileWall™ can sanitize the most common attachment types, you may receive an attachment of an unsupported or unrecognized type or an attachment type that is not part of your FileWall™ package. In such instances, a message is displayed in the message preview indicating that sanitization of the attachments was not possible. Open and use the attachment(s) listed in the message only if you trust the sender and are confident that it does not pose a risk.
What if a message has more than one attachment?
When multiple attachments are attached to a single message, FileWall™ processes each of the attachments separately. Carefully review the results message in the message preview. It is possible that the sanitization of one attachment is successful while another attachment is not. Where this is the case, the FileWall™ message preview will specify which attachments were successfully sanitized and which were not.
Which types of attachments does FileWall™ sanitize?
FileWall™ supports the sanitization of many types of attachments, including the most commonly encountered attachments, such as PDFs, Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) attachments, images, and more.
What about attachment types that aren’t supported?
If an incoming message includes an attachment of a type that is not supported, a message is displayed indicating that the file was not sanitized by odix’s FileWall™, and advising you to only open the file if you trust the sender and are confident that it is a legitimate file.
Why is there a Backup folder in my Inbox?
The Backup folder can be configured to automatically be added to the users’ Outlook mailbox when the FileWall™ is implemented. The odix-Backup folder contains the original copy of incoming email messages with their original attachment attachments (pre-sanitization). Important: Although you can open attachments from within this folder, exercise extreme caution -– these attachments have not been sanitized and may contain malware.
What is a released/restored email?
Released/Restored e-mail is a scenario where the administrator decided to release an email with an originally blocked attachment. Alternatively, the administrator may also restore the original email with a non-sanitized attachment. odix strongly recommends to open such email attachments with caution and only after validating that the attachment was validated by your security team. Contact your administrator for further information.